New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship 2020

Event Date: 9th December, 2019


Do you have a palate? Can you taste? You can win this Championship!!

The New Zealand Specialty Coffee Association (NZSCA) holds the license to run the national leg of the World Cup Tasters Championship.

The Championship is held in strict accordance with the WCE’s Rules and Regulations. The World Cup Taster’s Championship will be taking place in Warsaw, Poland 18-20 June 2020.

About the New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship

The New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship awards the professional coffee cupper who demonstrates speed, skill, and accuracy in distinguishing the taste differences in specialty coffees.

Coffees of the world have many distinct taste characteristics and in this competition format, the objective is for the cupper to discriminate between the different coffees. Three cups are placed in a triangle, with two cups being identical coffees and one cup being a different coffee. Using skills of smell, taste, attention and experience, the cupper will identify the odd cup in the triangle as quickly as they can.

A total of eight triangles are placed in each round. Then the top four will compete again in the final round to determine the next New Zealand Cup Tasters Champion.

Thank you to our sponsors: Ozone Coffee, AMC Roastery Supply NZ, Cafetto, Marco via L’affare, Acme & Co, Castaway and venue host Ozone Coffee Roasters.

New Zealand Rules and Competitor terms and conditions

Find out more about the championship and the Rules & Regs at

Please view the NZSCA ticketing terms & conditions here>

New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship 2020

Location: Ozone Coffee Roasters, 18 Westmoreland Street West, Grey Lynn, Auckland
Date: Friday 28 February 2020, 5 pm – 9 pm
Entry: Free for spectators, cuppers enter here>


Volunteer descriptions>

Who is up to Cup?

Takahito Koyanagi, Toasted Espresso, Auckland

Anne-Lise Mornard-Stott, Ripe Coffee Roasters, Petone

Cameron Hoogervorst, Vivace Coffee Roasters, Christchurch