New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship 2018

Event Date: 27th May, 2018


Do you have a palate? Can you taste? You can win this Championship!!

The New Zealand Specialty Coffee Association (NZSCA) holds the license to run the national leg of the World Cup Tasters Championship.

The Championship is held in strict accordance with the WCE’s Rules and Regulations. The World Cup Taster’s Championship will be taking place in Dubai, UAE 30 October – 1 November 2018 during GulfHost.

About the New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship

The New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship awards the professional coffee cupper who demonstrates speed, skill, and accuracy in distinguishing the taste differences in specialty coffees.

Coffees of the world have many distinct taste characteristics and in this competition format, the objective is for the cupper to discriminate between the different coffees. Three cups are placed in a triangle, with two cups being identical coffees and one cup being a different coffee.  Using skills of smell, taste, attention and experience, the cupper will identify the odd cup in the triangle as quickly as they can.

A total of eight triangles are placed in each round. Then the top four will compete again in the final round to determine the next New Zealand Cup Tasters Champion.

Thank you to our sponsors: Ozone Coffee RoastersMarco via L’affareCafettoAMC Roastery Supply NZ ACME & CO, Castaway and venue host L’affare.

New Zealand Rules & Competitor terms & conditions

Find out more about the championship and the Rules & Regulations at 

Please view the NZSCA ticketing terms & conditions here>


Who’s up to cup? Competitors so far:

Cameron Hoogervorst, Vivace Espresso, Christchurch

Takahito Koyanagi, Toasted Espresso, Auckland

Tania Kitto, Pomeroy’s Coffee & Tea, Nelson

Olivia Walsh, Sublime Coffee Roasters, Nelson

Ewan Kim, L’affare, Auckland

Tia Guyton, Roast Co, Auckland

Veronica Man, JDE Group, Auckland

An Nguyen, JDE Group, Auckland